Thursday, May 31, 2012

Scholarship Program Criticized

Some county officials are criticizing Governor Steve Beshear's authorization of more than $4 million from coal tax revenue to provide college scholarships to students from nine Appalachian counties over the next two years. The scholarships will be available beginning July 1st to college juniors and seniors from Bell, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin and Pike counties. The scholarships can be used only at the University of Pikeville and Alice Lloyd College as well as off-campus centers operated in the region by Morehead State University, Lindsey Wilson College and Lincoln Memorial University. Some county officials in eastern and western Kentucky say the Kentucky Coal County College Completion Scholarship Program should include all coal-producing counties.