Friday, March 22, 2013

Judicial Nominating Commission announces nominees for vacant Supreme Court seat

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced nominees to fill the vacant Supreme Court seat in the 6th Supreme Court District. The district is composed of 21 counties in the Northern Kentucky area. The vacancy was created by the retirement of Justice Wil Schroder effective Jan. 17, 2013.

The three attorneys named as nominees to fill the vacancy are Joseph E. Conley Jr. of Villa Hills, Michelle M. Keller of Fort Mitchell and Allison Emerson Jones of Prospect.

Conley is a partner with the law firm of Raines, Buechel, Conley & Dusing in Florence, of which he is a founder. He is also an adjunct law professor at the University of Cincinnati College of Law. He received his juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Keller is a Kentucky Court of Appeals judge. She previously served as a nurse and is an adjunct professor at the Xavier University School of Nursing. She received her juris doctor from Northern Kentucky University Salmon P. Chase College of Law.

Jones is an administrative law judge for the Kentucky Department of Workers’ Claims. She received her juris doctor from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

The counties in the 6th Supreme Court District are Bath, Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble.