Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Another Disaster Declaration Declared

Federal assistance has been awarded to several Kentucky counties after significant damage from a winter storm March 3, according to information from Gov. Steve Beshear's office.

Beshear found out Tuesday that President Barack Obama authorized the assistance.

The March 3 winter storm caused historic snowfall, flooding, landslides and mudslides.

The following counties in our region are included in the federal assistance: Floyd, Johnson, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Pike.

This is the third federal disaster declaration granted this month for severe weather events that lashed much of Kentucky earlier this year.  Snowstorms in February and March dumped as much as a foot of snow or more across the state, snarling traffic and shutting schools and businesses.  In April, flash flooding caused more school closures, home evacuations and road washouts.   

The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected governments and certain non-profit organizations under FEMA’s Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation Programs.