Thursday, August 20, 2015

Disaster loans available in 7 Va. counties, 2 W.Va. counties

(AP) — Low-interest disaster loans are available for businesses and residents affected by flooding and severe weather in seven Virginia counties and two West Virginia counties.

U.S. Small Business Administration administrator Marie Contreras-Sweet announced the loans on Thursday in a news release.

A disaster declaration requested by Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe covers Tazewell, Bland, Buchanan, Russell and Smyth counties in Virginia and McDowell and Mercer counties in West Virginia.

The counties were hit by severe weather and flooding on July 5.

Loans of up to $200,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate. Loans of up to $40,000 are available to homeowners and renters to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.