Monday, August 17, 2015


FRANKFORT, KY. – Homeowners, renters and business owners affected by the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Kentucky are urged to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), as they may be eligible for disaster assistance.

The presidential disaster declaration of August 12, makes federal assistance available to eligible individuals and business owners in Carter, Johnson, Rowan and Trimble counties.

Individuals and business owners in the designated counties can register online at Applicants may also call 800-621-3362 or (TTY) 800-462-7585. If you use Video Relay Services, call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

 Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, and for other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) may also be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

 Kentucky residents should register with FEMA even if they have insurance. FEMA cannot duplicate insurance payments, but under-insured applicants may receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Registering with FEMA is required for federal aid, even if the person has registered with another disaster-relief organization. FEMA registrants must use the name that appears on their Social Security card.

 Applicants will be asked for the following information:

         Social Security number
  • Address of the damaged home or apartment
  • Description of the damage
  • Information about insurance coverage
  • A current contact telephone number
  • An address where they can receive mail
  • Bank account and routing numbers for direct deposit of funds.

For more information on Kentucky disaster recovery, click or visit the Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM) site at