(AP) — West Virginia's spring forest fire season has started with limits on outside burning now in effect.
The season began Tuesday and runs through May 31. Outside burning is only allowed between 5 p.m. and 7 a.m. Burning also is limited to brush, leaves, yard clippings and other vegetative materials.
The West Virginia Division of Forestry says residents could face fines if a fire they started escapes and causes a wildfire or forest fire. Fines range from $100 to $1,000.
State law requires a safety strip or ring at least 10 feet wide around outdoor fires to prevent them from spreading into woods.